Special IJM volume to honor Donald Burkholder

by Phillip Griffith, Editor-in-Chief

Early in 2012, the Illinois Journal of Mathematics looks forward to adding another volume in its recent series honoring retired University of Illinois mathematics faculty. The latest volume will celebrate Donald Burkholder’s distinguished career at the U of I from 1955 until his retirement in 1998, and the fundamental impact of his research contributions to probability theory (theory of Martingales), functional analysis and Fourier analysis. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1992 and became a Professor in the U of I Center for Advanced Study in 1978.

The recent series of dedicated volumes follows a tradition that began in 1986 with a special issue in memory of William Boone, a distinguished logician on the U of I mathematics faculty (1958–1983). Then followed memorial volumes dedicated to renowned faculty members Irving Reiner (1988) and Kuo-Tsai Chen (1990). In 1998 the proceedings of a conference at Northwestern University that honored the highly productive career of Alexandra Bellow (U of I faculty 1964–1967) was published as a special dedicated volume.