Many faculty making Illinois Journal of Mathematics a success

by Phillip Griffith, Editor-in-Chief

As many in the Department of Mathematics already know, the Illinois Journal of Mathematics was conceived in 1957 by an esteemed group of department faculty that included Reinhold Baer and Joseph Doob. The mission of IJM is to publish high quality manuscripts across the mathematics research spectrum. In addition, IJM should be emblematic of the day-to-day research activity and noteworthy achievements of University of Illinois faculty.

IJM’s current editorial board includes five U of I faculty: Steven Bradlow, Phillip Griffith, William Haboush, Marius Junge and Richard Sowers. In order for IJM to maintain a profile of excellence it is imperative that department members participate on occasion in the editorial/referring process. As Editor and Chief I would like to send a “thank you” to the more than 25 faculty members who have willingly given their time and expertise. Special thanks go to retirees Earl Berkson and Robert Kaufman and current faculty John D’Angelo, A.J. Hildebrand and Lou van den Dries for numerous special consultations, and also faculty members Robert Bauer, Ilya Kapovich and Renming Song who have provided special editorial duties.

Please also join me in congratulating Debbie Broadrick who was the recipient of the 2010 Exceptional Merit Award in Mathematics for Non-Instructional Staff given by the Department of Mathematics. Debbie has been the Assistant to the Editor-in-Chief of IJM for the past 15 years. Because of her special energy she makes it possible for IJM to maintain a first class operation. She was also instrumental in redesigning the IJM website this past spring.